SDCC: Our favorite memory from THE San Diego Comic-Con

Has the post SDCC blue hit you yet? It has hit me and I didn’t even attend this year’s San Diego Comic Con! I could not make the con but I did check out all the Instagram posts of cosplayers and celebrities I follow as well as my friends who were able to attend. I miss the passionate fanboys and girls alike nerding out over a new trailer, an exclusive toy, or their favorite actor and actress who happen to come down the elevator at the hotel you happen to be staying at! With all that is happening the four days including Preview Night of San Diego Comic Con, the hype s real for #FOMO or #fearofmissingout. I for one miss the beautiful San Diego downtown who welcome all these nerds with opening arms and have the opportunity to show the best food, the best hospitality, and the best atmosphere in their city alongside the actual comic book convention. Waiters and Waitresses dress up in their favorite comic book, anime or film character, restaurants will hold specials just for Comic Con attendees and visitors, and the countless off site events and giant public displays scattered around downtown for convention and non convention attendees. The whole of downtown San Diego loosens their tie and dons their cape and embrace their nerdyside for those four days. Downtown San Diego is a nerd like you and me!

Below are a few of our own best SDCC moments we have experience in past few SDCC that we were able to attend!

Here’s one of Kevin’s best SDCC moments:

How can you choose only one? It is very difficult to say the least. I’ve had the opportunity to attend a few San Diego Comic Con and each one was very memorable. My first ever San Diego Comic Con, I got so overwhelmed with the sheer awesomeness and stimulation overload, I had to leave the exhibition floor and calm down by walking downtown. My next SDCC, I went without my girlfriend (who became my wife) and went with just a few close bros and I was able to meet Olivia Munn at a book signing at Borders (yes, there was a Border bookstore back then located somewhere in downtown San Diego!) I even attended the con with my sons (EV and I dressed up as Han Solo and Chewbacca when he was about 16 months old in 2013 and in 2015 where EV and I cosplayed as Jawa’s from Star Wars and Mase was Baymax from Big Hero 6.) You can tell, I have a bunch of memories from my pre-kid days and a bunch of memories with my kids.

1072629_10151601027983370_13942722_o

I have stories of meeting cosplayers like LeannaVamp, artists like Stanley ‘Artgerm’ Lau, and actors like Sandeep Parikh from The Guild, and just being around the near vicinity of Kevin Sorbo (Hercules: The Legendary Journeys) as he was dropped off infront of the convention center or thinking it was insane that no one recognized Dante Basco (Hook) coming out of a small sunglass boutique in dowtown San Diego or not realizing I was walking arms length close to Tatiana Maslany, Jordan Gavaris, and and Dylan Bruce from the BBC America show Ophan Black outside the Syfy Cafe!

11741089_10153439516697889_8129787746958766063_o

I  can honestly say though, having my 15 minutes of fame as a Jawa is up there of being one of my best SDCC moments. I took a few months crafting Jawa costumes for my buddy, Jay, my eldest son, EV and I and when we got all done up and hung out infront of the San Diego Convention Center, we had non stop requests for photos for atleast 15 minutes straight! We could have been there longer, but it was getting really warm in full Jawa with hood, long robe, black gloves, and light up eye mask! It was getting seriously toasty in that costume, but so worth it to see everyone share their love of Star Wars with us. We even made it on a few people’s Instagram posts! I even got one comment from a passerby claiming I was doing parenting right!

Here’s one of Jeremy’s best SDCC moments:
It’s hard to just choose one SDCC moment that stands out from the rest. I’ve always been an autograph hunter at San Diego Comic-Con over hunting exclusives or camping out for panels. Mainly because I could walk away with something tangible that I can see and display at home. Though, it is a gamble since most of the time I’m attempting to draw a ticket from a bag for that specific signing.
Well, last year in 2016, I attempted to pull a winning ticket for a limited signing out on by SDCC that gave me the opportunity to meet the current cast of Doctor Who which included Peter Capaldi, who plays The Doctor, Jenna Coleman, who plays Clara Oswald, and Michelle Gomez, who plays Missy. I had just gotten my Hasbro ticket along with hundreds of my closet friends and jumped into the Doctor Who limited signing line since I was already in the area and waited. I think I waited about 30-45 minutes before they started to let people draw tickets from the bags.
So I’m a bit superstitious and have a ritual when drawing from bags like this. I have a certain “lucky artifact” that I always bring with me along with the state of mind I need to be in order to pull a winning ticket. It’s only weird when it doesn’t work, right? And my track record includes pulling winning tickets from random bag drawings for the cast of NBC’s Chuck, the stars and director of the Veronica Mars movie, Conan O’Brian / the cast of the CW show, The 100 (which was a fiasco story in itself), and of course, the 12th Doctor and his companion!
IMG_7068
This was super special because I’ve been a huge Doctor Who fan for some time now thanks to my fraternity brother and fellow nerd, Paul, and it meant the world to me to meet the current cast of the show. I also tend to chat it up with the actors, asking questions and pouring on as much praise and support as I can before being told to move along by the security guards. That’s why I gamble on autograph signings. And yes, I’ve had my fair share of failed attempts, but when I do pull that winning ticket, the experience is much more meaningful and I feel super lucky to get the opportunity to meet these superstars that contribute to the nerd community and genre that I am proud to be a part of!

With so many memories to choose from, it’s difficulty to only choose one! The best part of going to a convention in my opinion is the memories you make with the people you are with. It’s the shared interest, the close proximity to each other, and the communal struggle of waiting in line for 2+ hours for an exclusive Marvel pin set by Scottie Young, “we in it shall be remembered- we few, we happy few, we band of brothers.” (St. Crispin’s Day speech from Henry V, Act IV, Scene iii 59-60) No, it isn’t like going to war but you do feel a sense of comraderie with your line mates and may strike a lasting friendship! That, to me, is one of the best things you can take away from attending a convention: meeting new people and sharing memories with your already close friends. It truly is the best.

*FEATURED IMAGES FOUND VIA GOOGLE IMAGE SEARCH AND KDIZ & JEREMY’S PERSONAL GALLERY

Do you have a favorite memory from SDCC or any other convention? Please share it with us on our Facebook page! Please feel free to leave a comment below or on our Facebook page here or Instagram page here or our Twitter page here.

Leave a Reply

