Nerd(Col)lab Introductions: Jeremy

IMG_8555

We continue the Nerd(Col)lab introductions this month with getting to know me, Jeremy! It’s very nice to meet you! If you haven’t checked out our first introduction, I suggest checking out my twin’s post here. We really hope you’ve enjoyed our posts about anything and everything nerdy and keep checking back here for new content every month!

Without any further ado, let’s begin!

My name is Jeremy and I am proud to be a nerd. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been a fan of comic books and comic art, cutting my teeth on several Marvel titles including the X-Men. When I rediscovered comics again in my adult life, the stories DC Comics were writing grabbed my attention and this Marvel fanboy became a DC fanboy. But in the end, I’ll read anything from any publisher as long as the stories are good and the art enhances the writing.

11693859_10153511911884810_2221448179204388447_n
J Scott Campbell and I at San Diego Comic-Con 2015.

This collaborative blog is one of two I write for, the second called Shortboxed that focuses on comic books and the comic book movie and tv realm. In another life, I would have pursued a writing career so this attempts to make up for it. But so far, I’ve enjoyed being able to express my thought and share what I love best about being a nerd and that’s nerding out about anything that involves comics, Star Wars, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, and the list goes on and on.

-Nerdy History Lesson

imgres-1

Growing up, my twin and I would visit the local comics and cards shop behind the Toys R’ Us to pick up a few fresh packs of X-Men cards where we’d trade our doubles to our friends at school. This is one of the earliest memories I have that involves comic book characters. And of course, we were glued to the tv whenever a new episode of the X-Men cartoon was on. Being a first generation kid to immigrant parents, I really connected with the X-Men and the struggle they had being different in a big world. I didn’t have any mutant powers, unless you consider my bottle cap looking eye glasses a mutant ability, but it was at this time that I realized that comic books offered me a world of endless possibilities and stories. And I gobbled up as many stories as I could!

-Interests

I really enjoy going to comic book conventions. I attended my first convention in 2010 which happened to be San Diego Comic-Con, the holy grail of all conventions. Saying I was overwhelmed is an understatement. That first year, I only attended one day but the years after, I maximized my time running the floor, sitting in Hall H, and hunting for exclusives as I became more and more of a SDCC veteran.

I’m lucky enough to have come away with pretty cool memories including meeting and getting autographs from Zachary Levi, Olivia Munn, Danny Pudi, Jorge Garcia, Grace Park, Jon Favreau, the cast of CW’s The 100, Peter Capaldi, and Jenna Coleman. I also was able to go to the fan premiere of Cowboys and Aliens with Harrison Ford and Oliva Wilde in attendance.

IMG_8214

I hope to attend more conventions to share my passion with my son and daughter. My son is already a Star Wars fan which makes this nerd dad giddy with happiness. And to construct cute cosplays for him and his sister will make these events more memorable.

Here are a few of my favorite things from comics to television to movies from favorite heroes and villains.

Favorite Marvel Superhero: Captain America

Favorite DC Superhero: Green Lantern

Favorite X-Men: Scott Summers aka Cyclops (before Bryan Singer made him not cool)             

Favorite Marvel Villain: Doctor Doom

Favorite DC Villian: A tie between Two-Face and the Joker

Favorite Star Wars movieEmpire Strikes Back

Favorite Star Wars character: Luke Skywalker (especially in Return of the Jedi)

Favorite Star Wars Villain: Boba Fett

Favorite Doctor Who Doctor: Matt Smith (11th Doctor)

Favorite Doctor Who Companion: Amy Pond

Favorite Doctor Who Villain: The Master/Missy (spoilers!)

Favorite Disney Ride: The Matterhorn Bobsleds

Favorite Disney Character: Dale from Chip & Dale

Favorite Disney Princess/Female Character: Ariel from The Little Mermaid

Favorite Disney Villain: Captain Hook

Favorite Movie: Kingsman: The Secret Service (adapted from the comic The Secret Service)

Favorite Book series: Harry Potter and A Song of Ice and Fire 

Favorite TV series: Firefly, Chuck, The Walking Dead,  & Battlestar Galactica

Favorite Cartoon series: Young Justice

Favorite Comic: Civil War (Marvel), Detective Comics: Black Mirror (DC), & The Walking Dead (Image Comics)

Favorite Actor:  Jesse Eisenberg

Favorite Actress: Morena Baccarin

Favorite Singer/Singing Group: The Ataris & 5 Seconds of Summer

Favorite Video Game: Goldeneye

Favorite Arcade Game: Off Road & X-Men

sf2-s4

Lighting round like Street Fighter!

If you had to to be bit and turn into something, what would you be (vampire, werewolf, etc): Direwolf!

Dark side or Light Side: Dark Side

Nerd weapon of choice (lightsaber, wand, etc):  Sonic Screwdriver

Represent which house for the House Cup: Slytherin

Video game console of choice: PS4

Best movie trilogy of all time: The Dark Night trilogy

Would like to fight alongside: Lord of the Rings Elves or Game of Throne’s Night’s Watch? I am the shield that guards the realm of men… 

Marvel or DC? DC

BB-8 or R2D2? BB-8

Zombie-killing weapon of choice: crossbow, samurai sword, etc? Samurai sword

Personal mode of transport (Back to the Future hoverboard, Aladdin’s magic carpetm etc)? Hoverboard

Coolest ride (Ghostrider’s bike, Tron Light cycle, etc): Iron Man suit

I’d rather play: Street Fighter or Mortal Kombat? Street Fighter

Which superpower I’d rather have (Flight, teleportation, etc)? Super strength

Which “Avatar- Last Airbender and Legends of Korra” bending power I’d rather have (Air bending, Earth bending, Water bending, Fire Bending, etc)? Water bending


That was just a snippet of what makes me the nerd that I am. We’ll have more introductions so you all can learn about the rest of the Nerd(Col)lab crew. If you liked this post or want to read more, please check out all our posts and feel free to leave a comment on our Facebook page here or Instagram page here or our Twitter page here.

IMG_7913

Stay Classy, San Diego!

Leave a Reply

